top of page

Fight Week!

Anyone who's fought in a ring or a cage before knows how exciting fight week is! All of the hard training is done, and now it's time to focus on cutting weight and feeling great for the fight. I started the week with about 11 pounds to lose and hope to get as close to 125 as possible before I leave for Boston on Thursday!

One of the hardest parts for me during fight week is the water. First it's drinking 1 1/2 gallons per day of plain water...no more crystal light flavors or BCAA supplements added in to make it taste good! Second challenging part about this is that I pee about every 25 minutes! This makes it very challenging to get through an hour training session or cardio uninterrupted! However I keep this all in mind because come Thursday afternoon around 12 I will take my last sips for the next 24 hours. Then I would do anything to have the gallon jug back!

This is all part of the process for anyone who is cutting a significant amount of weight. This is not a long term weight loss strategy I would recommend to any client or friend! Other than the water, the food is very clean and simple. I'm eating a lot of chicken, salmon and eggs. Not many carbohydrates at this point until after the weigh-ins on Friday, however I'm happy to be eating plenty of berries and veggies!

Although I'm going into "enemy" territory this weekend, I am grateful to have a few close teammates there along with my Dad! I will have an incredible corner team which includes my French Canadian girls Valerie Letourneau & Corrine Laframboise, and my coach Marcos "Parrumpa" DaMatta. My nutritionist Tricia Cornell will also be there Thursday to help me make a smooth cut to 125lbs!

I am very excited to put on a great fight this Saturday! I am feeling positive and strong in my mind and body. Thanks for keeping up with my journey in this crazy sport. I am ready to get this win and bring home an amazing victory!

bottom of page